For more than 100 years, the Society of Innocents has seen its members continue the unparalleled leadership and selfless service that made their collegiate careers worthy of membership into the society.

Currently, there are more than 750 living Innocents spread all over the country representing all kinds of professions - doctors, attorneys, public officials, journalists, professors, and more.  


Notable Alumni

Herbert Brownell - 1924 - 22nd Class

Herbert Brownell served as the United States Attorney General under President Dwight D. Eisenhower from 1953 to 1957.  Brownell was involved in several landmark civil rights cases, including Brown. v. Board of Education.  Prior to his appointment as Attorney General, Brownell served as Chairman of the Republican National Committee and led Eisenhower's 1952 presidential campaign.  

Howard Buffett - 1925 - 23rd Class

Howard Buffett served four terms representing Nebraska's 2nd District in the United States House of Representatives from 1943 to 1951.  Buffett started a small investment firm in Omaha that would eventually employ his son, Warren Buffett.

Harold "Doc" Edgerton - 1925 - 23rd Class

Harold "Doc" Edgerton is credited with inventing the strobe light.  Edgerton perfected stroboscope photography while at the Massachussets Institute of Technology.  Edgerton was able to use this technology to build aerial, nighttime cameras that were instrumental in planning the D-Day Invasion at Normandy.  Edgerton used this background to become the first person to photograph an atomic explosion as a contractor with the Atomic Energy Association.  Edgerton was awarded the National Medal of Science by President Richard Nixon in 1973.

Ed Weir - 1926 - 24th Class

Ed Weir was a lineman for the University of Nebraska football team and a captain of the 1923 team which beat Notre Dame's "Four Horsemen."  Weir was named an All-American twice and was elected to the inaugural class of the College Football Hall of Fame.  Weir was a conference champion in the high hurdles, and coached the Husker track team from 1939 to 1954.  The University of Nebraska's track bears his name.

Merle S. Jones - 1928 - 26th Class

Merle Jones served as President of CBS Broadcasting in New York during the 1950s.  Jones had a long career in broadcast television, spending most of it as an executive at CBS Broadcasting and its subsidiaries.

E.N. "Jack" Thompson - 1933 - 31st Class

E.N. "Jack" Thompson served as Deputy Director of the Office of United Nations Affairs before returning to Nebraska in 1954.  Thompson managed a variety of businesses including Cooper Theaters from 1964 to 1971.  He also served as President of the Cooper Foundation.  With the University's help, the Cooper Foundation developed the EN Thompson Forum on World Issues in 1988.  The Forum brings a diversity of viewpoints on international and public policy issues to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and the citizens of the state.

Frank "Jack" Fischer - 1935 - 33rd Class

As a student, "Jack" Fischer served as Student Council President and editor of The Daily Nebraskan.  His efforts led to the building of the Nebraska Union at 1400 R Street.  Fischer, a man of tremendous promise, died of a heart attack at age 31.  Today, the Nebraska Union's Fischer Lounge remains as a tribute to his efforts and influence.

Norbert T. Tiemann - 1949 - 44th Class

Norbert Tiemann served as the 32nd Governor of Nebraska from 1967 to 1971.  As Governor, Tiemann was responsible for establishing state aid to schools, integrating the University of Nebraska at Omaha into the University system, and establishing the state's Department of Economic Development.

Bob Kerrey - 1965 - 60th Class

Bob Kerrey served as the 35th Governor of Nebraska from 1983 to 1987 and as a United States Senator from 1989 to 2001.  Kerrey served as a Navy SEAL in the Vietnam War for which he was awarded the Medal of Honor, a Bronze Star, and a Purple Heart.  Kerrey was also a candidate for the Democratic presidential nomination in 1992.  Kerrey served as President of the New School in New York City for nine years.

Larry Johnson - 1967 - 62nd Class

Larry Johnson served as the Assistant-Secretary General for Legal Affairs for the United Nations from 2006 to 2008.  Johnson previously served as the Legal Adviser of the International Atomic Energy Agency in Vienna and as the Cabinet Chief of the Office of the President of the International Criminal Tribunal in The Hague.  Johnson is currently a Professor of Law the Columbia School of Law.

John Rosenow - 1971- 66th Class

John Rosenow organized the the Arbor Day Foundation in 1972 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Arbor Day.  Rosenow served as President of Arbor Day Foundation until 2014 and oversaw its many influential programs, including Tree City USA.

Don Wesely - 1977 - 72nd Class

Don Wesely was elected to the state legislature in 1978, a year after graduating college, becoming the third youngest legislator in Nebraska history.  Wesely served in the Legislature for twenty years before serving as Mayor of Lincoln from 1999 to 2003.

James "J.B." Milliken - 1979 -74th Class

J.B. Milliken served as the President of the University of Nebraska from 2004 to 2014.  Milliken was the Senior Vice President for the 16-campus University of North Carolina prior to joining the University of Nebraska. He currently serves as the Chancellor of The City University of New York.

Jay Keasling - 1986 - 81st Class

Jay Keasling is a professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering at the University of California-Berkeley.  Keasling's research involving metabolic enginering of E. coli has led to a low-cost anti-malarial drug which gained funding from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.  Keasling is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Jon Bruning - 1991 - 86th Class

Jon Bruning was elected the 31st Attorney General of the state of Nebraska from 2003 to 2015.  Bruning served as a Nebraska State Legislator from 1996 to 2002, before resigning to become Attorney General.

Kyle Vanden Bosch - 2001 - 96th Class

Kyle Vanden Bosch was a First-team All-Big 12 Conference and three-time Academic All-Big 12 Conference defensive lineman for the University of Nebraska.  He was drafted in the second round of the 2001 NFL Draft.  Vanden Bosch was selected to the Pro Bowl on three separate occasions and retired from the NFL in 2012 while playing for the Detroit Lions.